Ready!

Today is the day. Today is the day. I found myself running  through all the scenarios of what could go wrong with the job, and how I could be worse off because I tried it. But then again, I really don’t have that much to lose.

Kor had docked back at the station and gave me his report on the rendezvous. It was all looking good.
“You ready to do this?” I asked Kor, as we finished going over the plan one last time for good measure.
“This is going to clear my name, and get me some sweet currency, and is going to help out you, my new associate. I am ready. This can only end well!” He said, with an air of optimism I had not expected.
“We could get blown out of the sky and be right back where we started, minus a Rifter” I said.
“Yeah, but who cares? With the chance for cash like this? Let’s do it!”
“You are right. There isn’t much to lose and a lot to gain. Have you heard from your buddy yet? Are we good to go?” I asked. He did make a good point.
“Well, I haven’t yet, but let’s head out to the gate. It’s just the waiting game now!”

~ by Janette Davy on January 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
