Updated

The communicator in my console beeped, indicating a new message for Kor. This was it.

“Kor: Just spoken with CEO. Turns out leak was different person on different level. Worked in our advantage. I offered to pilot frigate with cargo. CEO accepted. Same time, same system. New plan: Both attack us. One ship goes down, I chase second. I pop. Take cargo. I apologise and take wrap. With my cut I leave corp and start my own. Safe flying. Out.”

We both released the breath we had been holding, and began to smile. This meant the whole thing would go down smoother than we had expected, and we wouldn’t put ourselves in harm’s way as much.
“That’s a relief” Kor said, and sat back down on my bunk. “So the plan goes ahead. We are going to be rich!”
“Let’s not count our tritanium before it’s refined, hey?” I said, giving him a playful nudge. “But yes, it does look like we are gonna get a payday, finally!”

We continued to organize our belongings for the rest of the day. At 1700 that night we packed our ships and undocked. Setting our navigation computers for the low security system, I opened a communication channel to Kor.
“I hope that rookie ship is enough to fool them into thinking it is a bunch of novices.” I said. He was flying a Reaper, which looked ridiculous from my view screen.
“Not that we need it any more. With my informant flying the cargo frigate we will just waltz through this.” He said.
“I hope so.” I replied. It was going to be an interesting day tomorrow.

~ by Janette Davy on January 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
